I really enjoyed the moment of debate we had in class as well as in our groups today regarding the need for the second tier person observation. I personally kept advocating for it as it all came back to the importance of the difference between observer and player. They are going to have different reactions on their faces, physical responses, emotional responses, takeaways from the game, and even more. I assume what we’re doing is taking notes on what we observe, and I think that observing the player isn’t enough. The psychological experiences between player and observer are vastly different, and in order to take notes, there needs to be that outside observation. I suppose it really depends on how deep and thorough of notes that you want. If you only want to have a record of the player’s reactions, then I guess it wouldn’t be necessary. However, I myself am interested in the psychological and physical responses of both the observer and the player.