The fun part about playing the sims games is the fact that you can recreate your whole life in the game under a completely different timeline/basis. For example, when I was younger and I played the sims I would always create myself in the future doing the career I wanted and having the life i wanted. It was almost comforting to have “control” over my reality and having the ability to change the trajectory of “my life” whenever I felt like it. If I wanted to be a tattoo artist one day, a scientist the next, and a fashion designer on the last day I could do that because my reality was in my hands. Essentially, the Sims game can be used as an escape from our real world because of the infinite level of control you have over your sims and in the game itself.

This reminds me of earlier in the semester when we discussed how people who are gamers usually want to be in control all the time and I feel that statement is very true! We resort to the game because once we have the controller in hand, we are literally in control of everything that goes on in the game. If there’s a game that exists that looks like real-life situations and has decent enough graphics in order for you to create a character based on your preference/liking, you wouldn’t want to play that game and be in control over another reality? I only say that because I know that when we feel that we don’t have control over our lives or our reality in general, we tend to start finding things that we can control. These things may consist of changing our appearance, going shopping, etc… But nobody thinks about games!