The Sims 2 is one of EA’s greatest creations. Don’t shoot me I’m just the messenger ;). Sims 2 has some of the greatest mechanics among Sims games that I’ve ever seen. Even compared to Sims 4! I say this because The Sims 2 mechanics are so perfectly created that it almost feels like you’re playing a real-life experience when playing the game. The Sims no longer move like game characters or PC characters, they move like real human beings. Even when cooking in the Sims 2, you can watch your sim go into different drawers and cupboards to get the materials they need to cook, lay them out along with the ingredients, and then proceed to make their dish. In the Sims 4, the newest sims game, things just appear out of mid-air for your sim to use while cooking so the life-like mechanics style was taken out of the gameplay.

Now yes, the Sims 2 graphics aren’t the best and especially when using a newer PC because it makes it hard to ignore the poor graphics in the game. But then it forces you to remember when the game came out and then associate the graphics with that time period. I mean tbh, after you play for a while the graphics kind of become a non-factor and they don’t bother you as much because you’re so intrigued with playing the game, and in some instances, you can follow a storyline. For example, in the Sims 2 Castaway Stories, there’s an option for you to follow a story path or just play free play. It’s quite interesting I definitely recommend it since some parts of the story version of the game require you to solve puzzles etc. The graphics in the game or well details in the graphics of the game helps create a more interesting environment to play your sims in. This is without custom content in the game btw. I feel that The Sims 2 has a good balance between gameplay, mechanics, and graphics because all three of them essentially work together to create the amazingly fun game experience of Sims 2.

Overall, when playing the Sims, I want to be able to have a fun experience creating the world and reality that I want. The reason why I enjoy The Sims 2 so much is because of the very thin line between reality and game(play) that exists in the game. What I mean by that is sometimes your sims will have meta experiences and even look at YOU in the game. It’s happened to me a couple of times and at first, it freaked me out because it felt so real, it felt that someone was looking at me rather than a game character. And I think because that exists in the game, I desire to play it more to test the limits of what feels real and what’s fake. A daredevil if you will!